the aziz inclusion award

Aziz Inclusion Award 2024

The Aziz Inclusion Award

The Aziz Inclusion Award celebrates, on an annual basis, a university partner that has demonstrated excellence in bettering the British Muslim student experience on campus. The Foundation works in partnership with higher education institutions to co-develop inclusive learning environments for Muslim students.

Nominations for the award must be one of the Foundation’s current university partners, and must have submitted evidence of work undertaken in the areas of EDI and WP in order to be eligible.


Nominations and Awarding process

Aziz Scholars and alumni will be given the first opportunity to produce the longlist of universities to be considered for the award. Scholars and alumni will be contacted via email and social media and asked to complete a nomination form for their host institution.

The longlist of universities will be announced via the Foundation’s website and social media platforms.

Longlisted institutions will then be contacted with a request for supplementary evidence to put forward their case for being shortlisted.

Then, a panel of judges, consisting of Foundation staff and trustees, as well as external stakeholders, will draw up the shortlist.

Lastly, the panel will reconvene to decide the winner and runner up. These will be announced at an Aziz Scholars social event by a representative of the Aziz Family.


Timeframe and Announcements

(1) January – February: Nominations open for Aziz scholars and alumni to recommend University partners for the award. DEADLINE FOR NOMINATIONS CLOSES ON 22nd MARCH 2024.

(2) March – April: Longlist of university partner nominees announced

(3) April – June: Call for supplementary evidence from longlisted institutions

(4) June/July: Panel of Judges convene to decide shortlist, duly announced through the Foundation’s channels

(5) September: Winner and runner-up announced

Current and Previous winners

2024: Longlist:

  • City University of London
  • University of Law
  • Manchester Metropolitan University
  • University of Essex
  • University of York
  • Wolfson College, University of Cambridge

2023: University of Law (WINNER), University of Sheffield (RUNNER UP) 


Scroll to Top